NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2018 Shortlists

nsw-premiers-awards-2018This morning the 2018 New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards shortlists were announced. There are a raft of awards with varying amounts of Prizemoney on offer. Winners will be announced on 30 April, judges for each award are hard to work out as the whole lot of them are listed in alphabetical order, without the category they are judging.

Here are the shortlists, with the prizemoney listed for each award.

The Christina Stead Prize ($40,000) is offered for a book of fiction

“Common People” by Tony Birch
“Seabirds Crying in the Harbour Dark” by Catherine Cole
“Pulse Points: Stories” by Jennifer Down
“The Book of Dirt” by Bram Presser
“The Restorer” by Michael Sala
“Taboo” by Kim Scott

The Douglas Stewart Prize ($40,000) is for a prose work other than a work of fiction

“Victoria: The Woman Who Made the Modern World” by Julia Baird
“’A passion for exploring new countries’ Matthew Finders & George Bass” by Josephine Bastian
“The Enigmatic Mr Deakin” by Judith Brett
“Passchendaele: Requiem for Doomed Youth” by Paul Ham
“The Green Bell: A Memoir of Love, Madness and Poetry” by Paul Keogh
“The Boy Behind the Curtain” by Tim Winton

The Kenneth Slessor Prize ($30,000) is offered to a poet for a book of collected poems or for a single poem of substantial length published in book form.

“Archipelago” by Adam Aitken
“Euclid’s Dog: 100 algorithmic poems” by Jordie Albiston
“Bone Ink” by Rico Craig (my review & interview with the poet at the link)
“Argosy” by Bella Li
“Captive and Temporal” by Nguyễn Tiên Hoàng
“The Wild Houses” by Omar Sakr

The Ethel Turner Prize ($30,000) is offered for a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry written for young people of secondary school level

“In The Dark Spaces” by Cally Black
“The Blue Cat” by Ursula Dubosarsky
“The One That Disappeared” by Zana Fraillon
“A Shadow’s Breath” by Nicole Hayes
“The Build-Up Season” by Megan Jacobson
“Ballad for a Mad Girl” by Vikki Wakefield

The Patricia Wrightson Prize ($30,000) is offered for a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry written for children up to secondary school level

“The Patchwork Bike” by Maxine Beneba Clarke and illustrated by Van T Rudd
“The Elephants” by Peter Carnavas
“Blossom” by Tasmin Janu
“Figgy Takes the City” by Tasmin Janu
“How to Bee” by Bren MacDibble
“The Sorry Tale of Fox and Bear” by Margrete Lamond and illustrated by Heather Vallance

The Nick Enright Prize ($30,000) is offered for a play or a work of music drama given its first production in Australia between 1 October 2015 and 30 September 2016

“The Sound of Waiting” by Mary Anne Butler
“Rice” by Michele Lee
“Black is the New White” by Nakkiah Lui
“Mark Colvin’s Kidney” by Tommy Murphy
“Little Emperors” by Lachlan Philpott
“The Real and Imagined History of the Elephant Man” by Tom Wright

The Betty Roland Prize ($30,000) is offered for the screenplay of a feature-length fiction film, for the script of a documentary film, for the script of a play or documentary for radio, or for the script of a television program (whether fiction or non-fiction)

“Deep Water: The Real Story” by Amanda Blue and Jacob Hickey
“Top of the Lake: China Girl, Series 2 Episode 4 ‘Birthday’” by Jane Campion and Gerard Lee
“Sweet Country” by Steven McGregor and David Tranter
“Seven Types of Ambiguity, Episode 2 ‘Alex’” by Jacquelin Perske
“Please Like Me, Series 4 Episode 5 ‘Burrito Bowl’” by Josh Thomas, Thomas Ward and Liz Doran

The Multicultural NSW Award ($20,000) – criteria is quite substantial, if you’re interested you can read about it here http://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/about-library-awards-nsw-premiers-literary-awards/multicultural-nsw-award

“No More Boats” by Felicity Castagna
“The Permanent Resident” by Roanna Gonsalves
“Dark Convicts” by Judy Johnson
“The Family Law, Series 2 Episode 4” by Nejamin Law and Kirsty Fisher
“Down the Hume” by Peter Polites
“Quicksilver” by Nicholas Rothwell

The Indigenous Writers’ Prize ($30,000) – offered biennially.

“Finding Eliza: Power and Colonial Storytelling” by Larissa Behrendt
“Common People by Tony Birch
“Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms” by Anita Heiss
“The Drover’s Wife” by Leah Purcell
“Taboo” by Kim Scott

The UTS Glenda Adams Award ($5,000) is for a published book of fiction written by an author who has not previously published a book-length work of narrative fiction or narrative non-fiction. There is no shortlist, the winner is announced on 30 April 2018

Both the NSW Premier’s Translation Prize and the Multicultural NSW Early Career Translator Prize are awarded biennially and will be awarded in 2019.

I will attempt to get to all of the poetry titles before the announcement of the winner, no promises though, my backlogs are horrendous!!!


One thought on “NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2018 Shortlists

  1. Pingback: 2018 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards | ANZ LitLovers LitBlog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s