Miles Franklin Award Longlist 2014

In early April the “Trust Company” as Trustee of the Miles Franklin Literary Award announced the 2014 longlist. A literature award that was first awarded in 1957, it is presented each year to the novel which if “of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.”
A first prize of AUD$60,000 makes the Mile Franklin Award one of the most sought after in Australia. The Award was established through the will of the author Miles Franklin (most well-known for the work “My Brilliant Career”).
The 2014 longlist for the Miles Franklin Award is:
Tracy Farr – The Life and Loves of Lena Guant
Richard Flanagan – The Narrow Road to the Deep North
Ashley Hay – The Railwayman’s Wife
Melissa Lucashenko – Mullumbimy
Fiona McFarlane – The Night Guest
Nicolas Rothwell – Belemor
Trevor Shearston – Game
Cory Taylor – My Beautiful Enemy
Tim Winton – Eyrie
Alexis Wright – The Swan Book
Evie Wyld – All The Birds, Singing
Fifty three submissions were received have been filtered down to the longlist of eleven. The shortlist will be announced later this month.
For more details of the Award go to website contains a reading challenge, a “hub” and the capacity to vote for your favourites, something a few other Awards could do a lot better, congratulations to the Miles Franklin Award for this innovation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s