Stella Award Longlist 2014 and the Society of Authors Translation Prizes

A couple of literary prize updates for you.
Stella Prize

The Stella Prize announced their 2014 Long List. The Stella Prize was awarded for the first time in 2013 and it is named after one of Australia’s iconic female authors, Stella Maria “Miles” Frankiln, it is for fiction and non-fiction books by female writers. The first prize is $50,000.
Longlist 2014
Letter to George Clooney – Debra Adelaide
Moving Among Strangers: Randolph Stow and My Family – Gabrielle Carey
Burial Rites – Hannah Kent
Night Games: Sex, Power and Sport – Anna Krien
Mullumbimby – Melissa Lucashenko
The Night Guest – Fiona McFarlane
Boy, Lost: A Family Memoir – Kristina Olsson
The Misogyny Factor – Anne Summers
Madeleine: A Life of Madeleine St. John – Helen Trinca
The Swan Book – Alexis Wright
The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka – Clare Wright
All the Birds, Singing – Evie Wyld
This list of twelve comes from over 160 entries. For more details on each of the books and the prize itself go to
The Society of Authors Translation Prizes
On February 12 seven translators received prizes totalling more than 19,000 pounds at the Society of Authors Translation Prizes awards. The Winners of the Prizes are first named below with the work and author following.
The Saif Ghobash Banipal Prize (Arabic) – Joint Winners
William Maynard Hutchins – “A Land Without Jasmine” by Wajdi al-Ahdal
Jonathan Wright – “Azazeel” by Zoussef Ziedan
The Schlegel-Tieck Prize (German)
Ian Crockatt – “Pure Contradiction – selected poems” by Rainer Maria Rilke
Runner Up – James Bulloch – “Sea of Ink” by Richard Wiehe
The Scott Moncrieff Prize (French)
Beverley Bie Brahic – “The Little Auto” by Guillaume Apollinaire
Runner Up – Euan Cameron – “A Journey to Nowhere – Detours and Riddles in the Lands and History of Courland” by Jean-Paul Kauffman
The Premio Valle Inclan (Spanish)
Frank Wynne – “The Blue Hour” by Alonso Cueto
Runner Up – Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia – “Traveller of the Century” by Andres Neuman
Runner Up – Anne McLean – “The Sound of Things Falling” by Juan Gabriel Vasquez
The Vondel Prize (Dutch)
David Colmer – “The Misfortunates” by Dmitri Verhulst
Runner Up – Ina Rilke – “The Black Lake” by Hella S. Haasse
The Ria Domb/Porjes Prize (Hebrew)
Todd Hasak-Lowy – “Motti” by Asaf Schurr
For more details on the Przies, the Judges, publishers etc. go to


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s